Deadline: 9 March 2018

The U.S. Embassy has announced that nominations are now being accepted for the 2018 Ambassador’s Woman of Courage Award.

The Woman of Courage Award honors women who are making history in their countries and communities through their work to better their societies, to fight discrimination or strife, and to help resolve conflicts. Women who have taken risks to run for public office or who are striving to break down barriers in order to promote positive change are great candidates for the award – so nominate someone now.

The winners will be honored in a special ceremony hosted by the U.S. Ambassador in commemoration of International Women’s Day in March. They will also be invited to participate in special events and programs supporting women throughout the year. As part of the select group of Women of Courage from their countries, they will provide inspiration and hope to women in towns and villages throughout the region.

Award Information

$500 will be given to a community-based organization chosen by the winners.


  • Eligible candidates are women working in the political, human rights, economic, social, judicial, health, educational, press/mediapeace and national reconciliation, and scientific and technological arenas. The U.S. Embassy will consider women who have taken unusual risks, surmounted difficult obstacles, or challenged harmful cultural practices or discrimination in their efforts to promote progress for women and girls, and for their society as a whole.
  • One nominee per country (one each from Papua New GuineaSolomon Islands, and Vanuatu) will be chosen by the U.S. Embassy for the Ambassador’s Woman of Courage Award in March to celebrate Women’s History Month. Nominators are encouraged to provide as much information on the nominee as possible and to clearly articulate why the nominee should be considered for the Ambassador’s Woman of Courage Award.

How to Apply

Nominations can be submitted via either e-mail, fax, mail, or hand delivered at the address given on the website.

Eligible Countries: Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, and Vanuatu

For more information, please visit Ambassador’s Woman of Courage Award.

About the Author:

Leave A Comment